top of page


  • It is illegal to drink alcohol until you are 21.

  • In Tennessee, possessing, consuming or purchasing alcohol is prohibited for minors. Social Hosting is the common term used when an owner, occupant, or other adult knowingly allows or fails to stop a minor from drinking or possessing alcoholic beverages or beer.

  • Since July of 2009, in Tennessee, furnishing alcohol to minors is prohibited, with no exceptions. It is a Class A misdemeanor.

  • Penalties can be up to 11 months and 29 days or a fine up to $2,500.

  • In spite of the law, some parents think they can teach their children to drink responsibly.

  • in the 2012 Monitoring the Future survey 13% of 8th graders reported drinking alcohol in the previous 30 days. Twenty-seven percent of 10th graders and 40% of 12th graders also reported alcohol use with the past month. Eighty-nine percent of 12th graders said availability of alcohol was fairly easy or very easy. In a previous study, 45% of the 12 - 14 year olds who had consumed alcohol with the past 30 days had gotten it free at home including 16% who obtained it from a parent or guardian.

  • "Underage drinking is not safe, and it's not the case that somehow the risk is removed because the parents provided it," Michael Hilton, acting deputy director for epidemiology and prevention research at the National Institute of Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism


bottom of page